Snow Patrol

Gary Lightbody, frontman of the Irish alt-rock band Snow Patrol, protests the punishments given to the Pirate Bay founders- one year in jail- which he deems “way over the top”.

They shouldn’t have been jailed. A year in jail for someone doing that is crazy. The punishment doesn’t fit the crime. I’m not anti-filesharing at all. This is the modern way. This is what we’ve brought on ourselves and you have to live in the society you created. Music is available to everyone if they know how to get and I say fucking go for it. I don’t, I buy all my music but then I don’t spend money on anything else except going to the pub. I love getting an album back and looking through the booklet and the artwork, and that’s lost when you download it.

[The Big Issue]
[Snow Patrol]

Leave a Reply

