Emily Haines (Metric, Broken Social Scene)

In addition to solo work and her band Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton, Emily Haines is also a member of Broken Social Scene and Metric. Her thoughts on filesharing:

. . . I have only piracy to thank for the fact that I can show up at a concert in Caracas and have every kid have made a handmade Metric t-shirt and know all the lyrics to all our songs. There’s been an unofficial monopoly on music that’s been long overdue to collapse. And I still have faith in people- if they really love a band, they want to own records. I know I do that- I download music, and then I love it, and I go buy the record. I feel like people who make a big stink about it, it’s like, there’s so much music out there that you’re lucky if someone could be bothered to steal your stupid fucking demo. I’m in favour, but again, the caveat is that I think it’s important to understand that bands like Metric, the only reason we can pay our rent is because of our ability to go and tour and have people hear the record. You should steal it to check it out, and if you like it, you should buy it.

Leave a Reply

