Joe Pug

As a small-time artist, singer/songwriter Joe Pug self-released most of his tracks for free on his website. He offers a two-track sampler CD free of charge – even covering postage himself – to get his music out there.

“Look, in the end, I just trust my fans, and the nature of people in general. I need to pay my bills like anyone else does. But I also don’t think it’s right to ask someone to pay $15 when they don’t know what they’re getting. So in a way by sending out these CDs, I’m wagering that they’ll like my music, and that if they do they’ll come to shows, buy CDs, and help me spread the word even further. And so far I’ve been proven right. Without question, the more sampler CDs I send out, the more music I sell.”

He considers “free” to be how he got to be where he is today.

Leave a Reply

