Ani DiFranco

Ani DiFranco, who releases on her own record label, sat down for a video interview with fora.tv in 2008:

“The shows were always my bread and butter in the beginning, for a long time, and album sales took a long time to even register on my income. . . I think there’s something very essential and very necessary about you know, taping tapes for friends and turning people on, and the anarchy of music exhange. I certainly wouldn’t want to crack down on this, especially in that heinous way that is happening now. I think that there was a crucial moment where Napster first came on the scene and instead of the record companies marrying themselves with these businesses, finding out a way they can all partake, they fought immediately- and lost. I think it’s an extra hard pill to swallow for these little guys, the independents, people who, every album sale counts, but I think it’s really a different world now. Music IS free. It’s gone beyond, you know, college students taping cassettes. It’s so accessable and so easy to get music for free that you really have to have a consciousness and an intention- you have to intentionally go out of your way to pay for music nowadays. I think I’m lucky that my audience tends to be a conscious and supportive of my little record company so I think probably they buy my record more than an average audience. . .”

Leave a Reply

