“Weird Al” Yankovic

I have very mixed feelings about it. On one hand, I’m concerned that the rampant downloading of my copyright-protected material over the Internet is severely eating into my album sales and having a decidedly adverse effect on my career. On the other hand, I can get all the Metallica songs I want for FREE! WOW!!!!!”

– Weird Al, “Ask Al“, 2000

The same year, Weird Al responds to a question asking if he performed a select list of songs they downloaded:

“This is actually my biggest problem with all those mp3-download services. A large number of the songs which are attributed to me are NOT by me at all. Some of the songs supposedly by me are, in fact, rather profane, and it disturbs me that some people might be led to believe that I’m responsible for them.”

In 2006, Weird Al released a tongue-in-cheek single about piracy called “Don’t Download This Song”, released for free as a legal download. Read the lyrics here. Watch the video here.

3 responses to ““Weird Al” Yankovic

  1. ^So true, plop, so true. Yeah, I think parody is legally covered under “fair use”.

    Samplings such a tricky subject. You’ve got some people like Negativland, Girl Talk, DJ Shadow, and the Dust Brothers (fucking Pauls Boutique!) who use it with such creativity to create something new and fresh, but a couple of bad apples get sued when they “sample” practically an entire song, and that becomes the legal standard for the industry.

  2. al should also realise that his form of music is legal piracy, he uses the full music but with his own lyrics, and then its called art.
    but when for example girltalk or negativeland use a sample of miliseconds of a song it’s called illegal piracy.
    and if you think al’s music is legal because he asks permission from the original artist your wrong.
    look up the case of roy orbinson vs. 2 live crew about the song pretty woman.
    all tho 2 live crew didn’t ask for permission to use the song, they won the case as the judge found parody’s an art form.

    plop

  3. Some French guy

    « Cette vidéo inclut du contenu de Vevo, qui l’a bloqué dans votre pays pour des raisons de droits d’auteur. »
    (“This video includes Vevo content [whatever that means], who blocked it in your country for copyright reasons.”)

    That’s what I get when I try to view the video… Yay.

Leave a Reply

